Film Review: Boiler Room

Film Review: Boiler Room

Boiler Room Film Review

By. Andrew 

 

Boiler Room is a film from the year 2000 that has a now very recognizable cast such as Vin Diesel, Ben Affleck, and Giovanni Ribisi.

Ribisi plays Seth Davis, a young man who quits college to instead run an underground card playing business out of his apartment. One day, Greg Weinstein (Nicky Katt) visits his apartment and notices his obvious intellect, telling Seth to go work at this little stockbroker firm that he works at. After learning some shady secrets about the firm, Seth is now presented with a choice to make millions off scamming others, or doing the right thing and facing the consequences.

While this certainly is not a masterpiece of film, I cannot lie when I say it is one of my favorite movies. I absolutely love watching this movie over and over, never getting sick of it. It is easily one of the most quotable films I have ever watched, and believe me when I say that I can pretty much recite this entire movie by heart! Seth is such a poor decision maker, but money can sway just about anyone. What makes this movie for me is how charismatic every character needs to be in order to sell their pitches. Ben Affleck is essentially a cameo in this movie, but his few scenes where he gives instructions to the new potential employees are so memorable and so fun to watch. Next to Good Will Hunting, this may be my favorite performance that I have seen by Ben Affleck, short as it is. Vin Diesel is also so good in this film, being a senior broker and Seth’s good friend throughout.

I love how clever and sneaky every character is, changing who they are while on the phone just to trick people into purchasing these bogus stocks. While there are no Oscar worthy performances, they are all so enjoyable and fun to watch, none of them are necessarily bad. I also liked the turning point and Seth’s realization that he had messed up. I felt it was done really well and showed how cutthroat people can be in the world of business.

One glaring flaw I had with this movie was the soundtrack, it frankly sucked. It was an annoying mixture of rap and strange remixed record-scratching that will quickly get on your nerves. Another problem I had with the movie was how abruptly Greg goes from helping Seth get the job, to hating him and trying to make his life more difficult.

In the end, I loved this movie and plan to watch it countless times for years to come. Though it may not be for everyone, I recommend trying it and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. It is not a masterpiece, and it is certainly not for everyone, but if you want my opinion: “Look at this f***ing smile on my face, ear to ear, baby!”

Score: 7/10

Leave a Reply

